Katy McGuinness

“What I do have a problem with is that not one of the four healthcare professionals that I interacted with during the two-and-a-half hours that I was in the hospital introduced themselves to me, or explained why they, in particular, were called in to deal with my problem.

And only one of them was wearing a badge. So I was left to figure out for myself who they were and what their various roles were.

In the United Kingdom, a young doctor called Kate Granger has launched an initiative called “Hello My Name Is”, which encourages everyone working in hospitals and healthcare to introduce themselves to their patients using proper eye contact (the kind that all parents despair that their children will ever learn until, one day, miraculously it clicks) and a smile.” … (Independent) >

