Aoife Flynn writes in a blog post >>> “While I understand that it’s far from a perfect system I think we hear far too much about the negative and not enough about the positive. The well acknowledged problem is of course the existence of a two-tier health system in many aspects of healthcare, but it’s reassuring to know that when things are really bad, when something very serious is happening to you, the public healthcare service is more than capable of responding, and responding at the highest level. …

I want to send my Valentine, not via Fine Gael, but to all the brilliant brilliant staff that work in or on or around the Denis Burkitt Ward in St. James’ Hospital. It’s a public ward and I was a public patient and received outstanding public care for 5 months, and continue to receive excellent care on the Day Ward.”

